What is a Digital World?

Prior to my studies, I had not heard of the term digital pedagogy. I found reading Child Development and Education (McDevitt, Ormrod, Cupit, Chandler, & Aloa, 2013), to be quite informative, as it was introducing me to a new concept where technology was the main focus.  I agree that it is necessary for teachers to develop a digital pedagogy, as technology will be a useful tool throughout the classroom. My understanding of this has increased drastically over the course of reading chapter one (Howell, 2012). I previously believed that technology was a distraction for children in the classroom. I now understand that technology not only serves as a useful tool for teachers (for example, PowerPoint presentations); but it also increases motivation and engagement in students. (Howell, 2012).

(Shewmaker, 2015).

(Shewmaker, 2015). Students benefit from collaborative learning.

(Noschese, 2010).

(Noschese, 2010). Technology is a useful tool in the classroom. Students are enthusiastic about their learning with technology.

The disconnection between what students want and what they are receiving is significant. Student frustration is rising. (Prensky, 2008). I was surprised at this, as I thought children merely used technology for entertainment purposes. Through learning that the majority of students want technology to be used in their lessons, it has taught me that when I become an educator, I must incorporate technology into my teachings. I feel that this will enable me to connect more with my students and maintain their attention. This excites me greatly, as I feel that through using technology as a teaching tool it will enhance the students’ grades, and increase their desire to learn. I believe that the digitally native students learn differently to previous generations, as they are constantly surrounded by technology. I believe students would yield much better results by learning in a digitally developed classroom, rather than reading from a text book. For example, through the use of PowerPoint presentations, interactive smart boards and eBooks. I now understand that our teaching methods need to adapt, in order to accommodate emerging technologies. (McDevitt, Ormrod, Cupit, Chandler, & Aloa, 2013).

(Hollis, 2013).

(Hollis, 2013). The use of technology increases engagement in the students.

(Creoculture, 2014).

(Creocultura, 2014). Today’s students are digital natives- constantly surrounded by technology at home.

References

Hollis, J. (2013). Teachers Love Smart Boards: Smart Board Article: Boards Get Brains, Chalk Vanishes. Retrieved from http://teacherslovesmartboards.com/2008/03/smart-board-art.html/

Howell, J. (2012). Teaching with ICT: Digital Pedagogies for Collaboration and Creativity. Melbourne, Australia: Oxford University Press.

McLeod, S. (2012, December 17). Education in a Digital World. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JfA2Th1HlEE&feature=youtu.be

McDevitt, T.M., Ormrod, J.E., Cupit. G., Chandler, M., & Aloa, V. (2013). Child Development and Education. Frenchs Forest, Australia: Pearson Australia.

Noschese, F. (2010). Action-Reaction: Reflections on the Dynamics of Teaching. Retrieved from https://fnoschese.wordpress.com/2010/08/06/the-2-interactive-whiteboard/

Prensky, M. (2008). The 21st-Century Digital Learner: How Tech-Obsessed iKids Would Improve our Schools. Retrieved from http://www.edutopia.org/ikid-digital-learner-technology-2008

Shewmaker, J.W. (2015). Children and Technology: Benefits and Challenges. Retrieved from http://jennifershewmaker.com/2015/04/06/children-and-technology-benefits-challenges-and-tips/

